Found in the back of the fridge, Episode 01: Flaxseed Meal

Have you ever peered inside your refrigerator, taken stock of all the easily visible items and thought, what am I gonna do with that?  What did I buy that for?

I had a moment like that earlier this morning.  I opened the refrigerator, and scanned it shelf by shelf as I tried to figure out what to make for breakfast.  When I took a closer look, my eyes found this:

"Remember me?"

Allow me to introduce you to flaxseed meal.  It’s not something you eat out of the container, and it’s not an ingredient that makes dishes memorable. It is, however, a healthy addition to many foods, and a great mix-in with your morning yogurt (which is exactly how I used it when I made breakfast this morning).

FOOD PROFILE:

Flaxseed Meal

Hi! I'm good for you!

What is it? the result of grinding flaxseeds (brown or golden varieties). You can buy it ground, or buy the seeds and grind them yourself in a coffee grinder.

What’s the big deal? Flaxseed meal is a nutritional powerhouse–it’s full of the good fats and lots of fiber, and while I’m no nutritionist, that stuff is supposed to be good for you.

What do I do with it?  If you need more fiber in your diet but don’t like the taste of high-fiber food, you might like this. The flavor is mildly nutty, and totally unobtrusive.  Sprinkle a tablespoon on your yogurt, add 1 to 2 tablespoons to soups or sauces (like tomato), or add it to batters or doughs when you bake.*

Where do I find it? Mostly anywhere, and in large supermarkets it’s usually found near the cereals or special diets section.  I get mine at Trader Joe’s, which has their own brand, or if not they usually carry this (my preference).

Where do I keep it?  In the fridge, in a sealed air-tight container, where it will keep indefinitely and retain it’s nutritional value.

*Sometimes flaxseed meal is called for in recipes, but when it’s not, proceed with caution when you bake.  Baking is chemistry, and if you alter the chemistry of a baking recipe, you might ruin it. Or you may just have a happy accident.

***Updated @ 9:20pm: I found a recipe for Banana Bread that uses flaxseed meal (which is extra awesome since I’m stuck with a basket of ripe bananas).  I’ve still got some customizing to do, but in the meantime here’s a preview of the ingredients. Recipe to follow this weekend.

2 thoughts on “Found in the back of the fridge, Episode 01: Flaxseed Meal

  1. Pingback: Sweet Tooth: Banana Bread « magic in the kitchen

  2. Someone necessarily lend a hand to make significantly posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual submit extraordinary. Great activity!

Leave a Reply

