On a whim, I made a fruit crumble…

Apple Berry Pear Crumble

There are few better ways to end a day than spending an hour with a good friend catching up over tacos and beer. When I got home from dinner and started preparing my lunch for tomorrow (Yep, I do that), I noticed some sad-looking pears and an apple in the crisper. I had a feeling they had been there long enough not to be crisp anymore.

But I hate throwing food away, and since the fruit was untarnished by anything green or fuzzy, I peeled off the bruised skins, cut everything into pieces and threw everything in a Pyrex pan with some lemon juice.

Hmm. Then what?

Over my lunch break today I saw this post on The Kitchn about making a fruit crumble—an endlessly adaptable dish that requires very little time and just a few ingredients, all of which I had on hand: fruit, brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and butter. I like to add oats whenever I make a topping for a crisp or crumble, so I threw some of them in too.

I didn’t have enough apple and pear pieces to fill the baking dish, so I added about a cup of frozen mixed berries, for color, and because they were there.

The topping is made by combining all the dry ingredients in a bowl and then adding some softened butter, then mixing it all with your hands so that big crumbs form. Now, normally, a crumble topping calls for a half-stick to a whole stick of butter, but I’m back on the wagon this week after consuming so much pie over the weekend. So, I used a small amount of butter.

The measurements I’m going to provide are very rough, but as The Kitchn post mentions, this is not a dish that requires hard & fast measurements.

RECIPE:

Apple Berry Pear Crumble

Ingredients:

  • 1 large apple, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 2 pears, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • juice from a quarter lemon, just to keep the apple and pears from browning

For topping:

  • 2 tbsp. flour
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar (packed lightly)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp. butter, softened

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Combine fruit in a square glass or ceramic baking dish (or a 9″ pie plate).

Next, combine the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Sprinkle pieces of the butter over the mixture, then mix with your hands until large crumbs form. Sprinkle the crumb mixture over the fruit in an even layer. Bake for 40-45 minutes until the topping has browned but not burned anywhere. The fruit will be bubbling at the edges.

Mmm…bubbling fruit

Allow to cool for several hours, then scoop some onto a plate and enjoy with ice cream or yogurt.

One thought on “On a whim, I made a fruit crumble…

  1. Pingback: Sunday Cooking: Get Your Grill on Without Leaving the Comfort of A/C « magic in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

